Australia T20 World Cup Squad 2024: Full Roster of Players and Names


Team Australia has announced its squad for the T-20 World Cup 2024. The Australian cricket team has made some bold calls, including appointing Mitch March as the captain of the ICC tournament. Australia’s squad comprises 15 players, including a few surprising omissions and inclusions.

New captain appointed

Australia’s decision to appoint Mitch Marsh as the new captain for the T-20 World Cup 2024 has raised eyebrows. Typically, if a captain leads their team to victory in an ICC trophy, they will continue to lead the team for several years. However, Australia has decided to replace Pat Cummins, who led the team to victory in two ICC trophies, with Marsh.

Mitchell Marsh (Captain)All-rounder
Cameron GreenAll-rounder
Glenn MaxwellAll-rounder
Marcus StoinisAll-rounder
Tim DavidBatsman
Travis HeadBatsman
David WarnerBatsman
Ashton AgarBowler
Pat CumminsBowler
Nathan EllisBowler
Josh HazlewoodBowler
Mitchell StarcBowler
Adam ZampaBowler
Josh InglisWicketkeeper Batter
Matthew WadeWicketkeeper Batter

Surprising omissions

Australia’s squad includes some surprising omissions. Steve Smith’s name is missing from the squad, despite being a crucial player in the team. Aaron Haddy, who has played in all T20 series for the team in the last year, has also been left out.

READ more :- Five players, given excellent performance in IPL, but not selected for T20 World Cup

Well-balanced squad

Despite the surprising omissions, Australia’s squad is well-balanced and well-managed. The Chief Selector in the Australian Cricket Board, George Bailey, announced the squad this morning. Bailey explained the reasoning behind the omissions, citing injuries and other factors.

Australia’s squad

Australia’s squad comprises Mitch Marsh as the captain, followed by Pat Cummins, Tim David, Dan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Fraser McRea, and Ashton Agar.

All-rounders galore

Australia’s squad is filled with all-rounders. Mitch Marsh, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, and Marcus Stoinis are all-rounders who will likely play a key role in the team’s success. Predicted playing 11 Travis Head and David Warner will start the innings at number three, followed by captain Mitch Marsh at number four. Glenn Maxwell is expected to bat at number five, with Cameron Green at number six and Marcus Stoinis at number seven. Conclusion Australia’s decision to appoint Mitch Marsh as captain and omit Steve Smith and Aaron Haddy from the squad has raised eyebrows. However, the team’s well-balanced squad, filled with all-rounders, gives them a strong chance of success in the T-20 World Cup 2024.